Goals, Malcolm Stone, NaNoWriMo, Reverie

Time for a jump start

I thought yesterday would never come… the last day of courses for at least two terms (otherwise known a 17 weeks).  Now, I can finally have a little bit of free time – for the next month and a half (assuming I don’t sleep it away).

I have big goals before the little one arrives in August – I am going to attempt to finish the draft of Reverie.  I am currently at about 30,000 words with is just a little under halfway the half way point.  The major points in the story have been outlined, the only problem is figuring out how to get from point A to point B.

Since it’s been such a long time, since I’ve spent any significant time working on my creative writing, I’m feeling a bit rusty at the craft.  In order to jump start my writing again, I decided to join Camp NaNoWriMo.  I know, you probably remember me saying I was not going to participate in NaNoWriMo any more because I don’t like that rushed feeling and I’m a bigger fan of quality over quantity.  Which is true, but I need a little help and jumping into the deep end with a goal of 20,000 words for a month is exactly what I need.  Luckily, my motivation and creativity has skyrocketed within the last 24 hours.  So, I am actually looking forward to starting writing again on July 1st.

So, here’s to hoping I can finish out this draft before the little one makes his appearance in this world.  I’m still hoping for a late year publication.

 

9 thoughts on “Time for a jump start”

    1. Thank you! Last night, I was reviewing my draft a little bit and I think I found my biggest writing obstacle (outside of my own excuses). I was attempting to write the story line in a linear fashion, which I typically don’t do. I normally jump from scene to scene and piece it back together afterwards. I’m hoping I’m not stretching myself too thin on my camp goals and that this baby doesn’t come early!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Your life has become exceptionally busy, Amanda. Once the baby is born, it will be even more so. I applaud your determination in keeping up with your writing, and wish you the very best with everything. 🙂
    Always a friend, Paul.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really has seemed to take on a different quality lately… most of which is good and all of which as been exciting. Some big changes outside of the little one are coming up around the corner too. Hopefully, I can make those announcements public soon. It’s going to a challenge, but I think it will be a fun one 🙂

      Like

  2. Congratulations on your pregnancy, Amanda. I’m delighted for you and hope it all goes well.
    I hope, too, that you enjoy Camp NaNoWriMo and that it gives you the kick start you need.
    Having birthed and mothered five children, may I make so bold as to give you a writing tip? Little and often is the way to do it. Try to make small, achievable goals rather than anything too grandiose. I used to aim for fifteen minutes of writing every day. It’s amazing how that mounts up to a piece of work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

