The Writer

Time to buckle down and get serious

For years, I have struggled with the concept of making a schedule for writing.  I’ve held onto the belief that I could not force myself to be creative on certain days and that I would write when I felt the creative urge.  That all worked fine… for a while.  But now, with a busy schedule full of baby planning, work, and school creativity took a back burner… so much of one that I haven’t even opened a story to write on in months.

I’ve finally decided it’s time to get serious about creativity.  It’s no longer something I want do when I find time.  It’s time to start making time for it.  I have three weeks (including this one) left of this college course, then I’m taking the next two 8 week terms off for the little guy’s arrival.  During the little bit of “down” time I have before he arrives, I am going to attempt to adhere to a creativity schedule (starting around July 1).  I want to dedicate two evenings a week to some sort of creating (ideally writing) outside of blogging, in addition to a weekly blogging schedule.

This year is a year of change for me and I want to take advantage of that momentum to change my writing habits and become more productive. I have big plans for the upcoming year, and I’m ready to start working towards those goals.

20170605_065936_HDR

5 thoughts on “Time to buckle down and get serious”

  1. Making a schedule is hard. I find myself “stealing” time to write something. A journal entry, a blog post, a short story scene. It’s hard for me to stick to a schedule that works with everything going on in my daily life. Working two jobs, going to the gym, reserved time for family. So I can relate to what you’re feeling.

    I think what will help me is planning ahead of time. To look at the week ahead and stick to a plan to write, work out, and so on. Having a calendar laid out in front of me will help me carve out time for writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree that making and sticking to a schedule is so difficult. I have a hard enough time sticking to my outlines! But it’s something that I’m willing to try. I applaud you for even being able to find time to write with two jobs, family time, and going to the gym! You are a wonder man.

      This year I’ve decided to join in on Camp NaNoWriMo and attempt to get the second half of my draft done.

      Like

    1. I’m hoping I’ll be able to snatch some time to write or sleep during those times. I’ve already decided that I will probably be snatching a corner of his room to use as my office at least until he’s mobile.

      Like

Leave a comment