Becoming a Writer, Getting to know the author, Non-Fiction, The Writer

Making Progress

I am making slow, yet steady progress back into a writing habit.  I can honestly say that I hadn’t entirely given up my writing practice.  During my break, I did still write an occasional journal entry and too many college papers.  However, the goal is getting back to writing for fun and publication.

So, during the past week, I decided to make a few little changes to my daily routine.  I had been spending my lunch hours reading or relaxing.  Now, I have started using my lunch hours not only to relax, but to write and brainstorm.  So far, my lunch sessions have been fairly successful.

The first day I focused on writing, I finally solved the mystery of who killed Malcolm’s wife Anabelle.  I know the who did it, how it happened, and why she was killed.  The only problem that remains is how does Malcolm find out…

I have also discovered or rather re-discovered that when coming back from a break and not knowing where to start, it’s best to have a pad of paper and a pen handy.  Handwriting my ideas allows for less distractions than typing and a slower process that allows my thoughts to fully form as I’m writing.

Yesterday, for the first time in quite some time, I actually sat down and wrote something that will eventually be for publication.  I started working on the introduction to my next non-fiction book.  I have not decided if it will be another photo book or not, but the working title is Finding Peace in a Time of Change.  I am not anticipating it to be ready until the end of the year at the earliest, but more than likely beginning of next year.  I also started a scene featuring Malcolm Stone, yes, I’m slowly making my way back to the series.

It’s interesting to me, how each project we learn to write all over again at times rediscovering an already known remedy to problems or finding a different way to do something.  Perhaps, that is what draws me towards writing – each adventure is different, yet the same.

20170503_065535_HDR

1 thought on “Making Progress”

Leave a Reply

