Becoming a Writer, Goals, The Writer, Writing Process

Little steps

Sometimes, it’s difficult to jump back into an activity after a long break.  Writing seems to be one of those activities for me.  To be honest, I have never really been one of those people with a dedicated schedule to spend time writing.  But this year, with all the changes on the horizon, I feel my lackadaisical approach to writing also needs to change.

But let’s not put the cart before the horse.  First, I need to get back into writing mode before I can take my craft a bit more serious.  I have tried sitting down with my word document open and tried to write.  Nothing happened.  Not even one word was put on the page.  This made me realize I can not just jump in head first.  So, I have started doing small things to revive my creativity.

To start, I cleaned and organized my writing space.  It had become a catch all location over the last few months, collecting everything from tax documents, bills, school work, to hair clippers.  I took a day and reclaimed the workspace for creative projects and nothing else.

Essentially, I am going back to the basics.  Revisiting what my motivation and inspiration was to originally start writing.  So to start, I have been reading fiction again for leisure and I switched my music selection from meditation music back to piano music.  It’s helping a bit, afterall, I am back to blogging.  But, I haven’t sat down to write any fiction, yet.  

I am not pushing myself.  I know I have a lot going on in my life and in my mind, so right now, I am happy taking these baby steps back into writing.

Each day is a new day to take one more step back into writing.

2 thoughts on “Little steps”

  1. Good to hear that you’re getting back into writing. It’s a slow process, from what I understand. I went through periods like that. It was hard for me to get back into writing stories. I wasn’t ready. Unfortunately, I don’t have a dedicated spot in my house for writing. I just sit wherever there’s room. And most of the time, I have to write when everyone else is away or asleep. Or I’ll write stuff on my phone. That seems to help get my spirits up for writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

