Posted in The Writer

What a year….

This past year seemed like a non-stop roller coaster.  Very few things went as planned, and the year just seemed to zip past along with any plans I had made.  Reverie didn’t get written or published, the Zine plans were dropped like a brick, my blogging schedule went to hell, and instead of adopting a workout routine I tossed fitness right out the window.

But, I’m not one to dwell on things that went wrong.  So, what went right in 2016?  I did a lot of soul searching.  I discovered a direction for my creative works and resolved to make some changes.  I published The Sun Rises: Using Nature as a Foundation for Happy Living.  I was amazed at how much fun writing that small 60 page non-fiction book was.  I’m looking forward to writing more in the future.

Onward and upward to 2017.

Each year I develop a theme or focus for the year.  Last year was Organization. I’m not sure I succeed at that one, but in a way I did.  I spent the past year focus on what  I needed to do to organize my life, even though no actual organization happened.  So, what do I plan on focusing on in 2017?

Patience, Understanding, and Flexibility

If 2016 taught me anything, it was to roll with the punches.  I have always prided myself on being adaptable, but sometimes I’m still too hard on myself and forget I need time out to relax and recover as well.  I have a hard time remembering my time is limited and I can’t always get everything done (it’s not always a time management issue, sometimes it’s actually a time issue).

My broad goals for 2017:

  • Write more frequently – try to set aside 30 minutes twice a week to focus solely on writing
    • Finish Reverie
  • Plan a new photo inspired book
  • Reorganize and relaunch the Zine projects
  • Pick up a couple clients to beta test creative business coaching
  • Branch out in my creative endeavors
    • Try hand at visual arts outside of photography
Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

One thought on “What a year….

Leave a Reply

