Posted in Goals, The Writer

New Projects / Project Update

 

wp-1470940627952.jpg

It’s been a while since I have given you an update on my projects. Until I started listing them all out, I had no idea I had so many things going at once.

Reverie

Reverie is book 2 of the Malcolm Stone series and at this present moment I have written 20 chapters , sort of….  Since the USB drive is currently missing, I have started over.  As I stated in my last post, I have seven of the original chapters backed up.  However, due to the amount of frustration I am feeling over the lost chapters, I have started the book fresh.  So, currently we are back to the drawing board, so to speak, redrafting the book to be better than it was.

The Coffeehouse Magazine

Yet another project draft that was “lost”, but on the bright side the only thing lost on this project was the draft formatting of the zine.   I am currently working on an interview for the featured artist section of this issue, but otherwise we are on track for having the first issue published (in full color) by the end of the month.  The next issue shouldn’t take as long to produce, as I have a better idea of what it will take.

With that being said, I am looking for submissions for the next issue.  I am looking for journal type entries as always and for creative projects this issue will be themed around suspense, horror, and winter stories, poetry, art, etc.  Look forward to the submissions.

Writers’ Coffeehouse

I had talk about expanding the Google+ Writers’ Coffeehouse community to it’s own website for some time.  Last month, I finally got around to investigating forum websites to host the new and expanded community.  I finally found a free forum location and opened a Weebly website to host The Coffeehouse.  We are still very much in the infancy stages and the Google+ community is still active, but eventually I would like to see the new forum take shape and grow to a larger community of support than we currently have on Google+.

Please jump on over to the new forum at: http://writerscoffeehouse.freeforums.net/ and introduce yourself and start some conversations – ask any questions you’ve ever wanted to know.  This isn’t just a place for writers and artists, but also for our audience to ask us questions they may want to know.

The website, which is still being fine tuned, but will include articles and blog post of interest along with advertising upcoming and available creative works: http://writerscoffeehouse.weebly.com/   This website will soon be where you will be able to find more information about The Coffeehouse Magazine along with purchase copies or subscriptions.

Saturday Spotlight

I am really looking forward to getting this project off the ground.  I have somewhere around 10 interested writers or artists, but most are wanting some sort of interview, which should be fun, but I haven’t taken the time to customize interview questions for each one. Next week, I am on vacation from work so I hope to find some creative time to get this project organized and interview sent out.  Within the next couple weeks you should see the first Saturday Spotlight post.  I think this will be a fun way to feature other creative people and help spread the word about their works.

Becoming a Writer

This series of posts has actually be a lot more rewarding that I ever thought.  The feedback I have received on and off the blog for this series has blown me away.  I’m glad I am helping inspire and motivate people to create and follow their dreams. This is one of my favorite things about choosing this creative path, knowing that I am helping!  Those first few steps can be intimidating and it’s great to know someone is there to support you.  I plan to continue to run this series until the ideas run out.  So with that being said do you have any suggestions for post topics?

100 days project

This project was brought to my attention by ZR Southcombe (no surprises there).  The goal of the project is to participate in a simple creative project everyday for 100 days.  Day 1 is August 24 (registration to participate closes on August 20th).

I am doing a project on self exploration through journaling and photography.  I will attempt to cross post on twitter / facebook / instagram, but otherwise all 100 days will be available here: http://100daysproject.co.nz/projects/100-days-2016/amanda-staley

Depending on how the project evolves,  I plan to use the photos and journal entries and publish them into a book.  This will be similar in nature to the photo book / journal that I am currently working on.

Photo book/journal

This project is complicated, though not as complicated as I have been making it.  I have selected several photos I have taken over the years and now I am in the process of writing captions and narratives.  (No surprises this project was also on the USB drive).  With the 100 days project coming up that is similar in nature to this one, I have found new motivation to finish this one up quickly and get it ready to publish.  Essentially, I have decided to treat this book much like I treat my photo posts on instagram and combine some narrative journaling into it in hopes to inspire.

I am hoping to have this book published by the end of September.

Art / Painting

A few months ago, I picked up doodling.  I have never really explored visual arts outside of photography.  I have enjoyed the cathartic feel you get by putting a pen or paint brush to paper/canvas.  Recently, I have been thinking more about my own creativity in both written and visual forms.

I have a few ideas for paintings and doodles that I will be working on soon.  So look forward to seeing more posts on social media on my new found artistic side.

Imaginarium

This topic will soon be getting it’s own full post, but Imaginarium is a three day writing, film-making, gaming, music, graphic novel, etc conference in Louisville, Kentucky.  The conference is at the Crown Plaza Hotel on Oct 7-9 (registration is cheap $65 for the whole weekend!)  I will be there selling my book in the expo hall (which is free to the public).  So, if you happen to be in the area that weekend stop by and say hello.

And to top it off classes start at the end of the month!  I am going to be a busy fall, but I absolutely love that I have so many creative projects to look forward to.

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

4 thoughts on “New Projects / Project Update

  1. Are you finding time to sleep and eat while you do all of this? Where is all this energy coming from? If you have any extra, could you bottle it up and send it to me?

    I remember you mentioning the Saturday Spotlight before. I’m willing to participate. If you could give me a better idea of what you want other than the interview thing, I’m willing to try one of them. [I do just writing, not a photographer or visual artist.]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

