Reverie, The Writer

Frustrations and lessons hard learned

I am not prone to writing complaining and whining post.  I enjoy what  I do, but that isn’t to say I don’t get frustrated and annoyed.  Right now happens to be one of those times, which is one reason we missed this week’s Becoming a Writer post.

A week and a half ago, I managed to misplace my glasses in their case with my USB drive inside.  First losing the glasses is a major annoyance, as they are new glasses with a new prescription and now all print is a little fuzzy.  Not a huge deal, I can replace them easily enough.  I don’t want to replace them, but worst comes to worst I can.

The USB drive, that’s a whole other story.  That drive happens to house my resume, some music, graduate work papers, and most importantly my books, plot ideas, and first drafts of other works.  I have been holding out hoping my glasses turn up somewhere.  I’m nearly certain they are in my house, but I have turned the entire place upside down (and it’s smaller than some of the old apartments I’ve lived in) and they still have not turned up.  I keep hoping I’ll find them somewhere, possibly a ferret ran off with the case.

So, for the past week or so, I have been at a stand still with all my creative projects.  I did have a backed up version of Reverie, but it is only the first seven chapters; before a few changes, and the last time I wrote on the real version I was starting chapter 20.  Needless to say, I was frustrated that I hadn’t backed up the story in a while.

Today, I came to the realization, that perhaps I was not going to find my glasses or the case anytime soon.  I don’t want to wait around forever, not making any progress on my book.  I would like to have it finished by the end of the year and I can’t do that by sitting around waiting on my glasses case to appear.  So, I’ve decided to start reworking and writing those lost chapters.  Perhaps, I am destined to write the book over again.

I don’t know how may times I am going to have to lose chapters, books and other drafts to realized I need to back up my stuff more often.  With that being said, I’m off to work on Reverie… saved on the Cloud this time.

On the off chance I find my glasses case with the USB drive inside, I will be giving away the Kindle version of Dissonance for a few days as a celebration.  So, send me luck!

4 thoughts on “Frustrations and lessons hard learned”

  1. We all lose things, and sometimes what is lost feels devastating. And, in many cases, it is just that. Yes, you probably should backup more often, but that neither here or there right now. Long ago I learned that looking for something too long makes it impossible to find–at least for me. I learned to give it two good thorough tries, and then walk away. More often than not, whatever I’ve been looking for appears after I’m not thinking about it so often. I wonder why that is.

    Anything to do with writing I keep in my Dropbox or my OneDrive. If anything happens to my beloved PC or laptop, my writing conglomeration is still in tact and easily found. And… easy assess from my PC or laptop too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Amanda,

    I see you have WordPress. I have started a website there, but I am having a hell of a time trying to figure things out, such as blog title, workable website address (right now it is paulmagnan.WordPress.com, but if I try to copy that somewhere, it doesn’t seem to turn into a link), and stuff like that. I know they have all sorts of instructions, but, maybe, a bit too many instructions, so that what I am looking for is lost in the shuffle?

    Any tips?

    Paul

    Date: Sat, 6 Aug 2016 01:56:31 +0000 To: paulcma@hotmail.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

