Posted in The Writer

Y is for Year

Somehow this year is slipping by, though I am getting a lot accomplished.  I have published my first book, I’m about 1/3 of the way through drafting the second one, and I’m taking submissions on a joint magazine project with New Zealand author Z.R. Southcombe.   I am hoping by the end of the year, I’ll have the second book in the Malcolm Stone series published, but I’m not setting that as a hard goal, yet.

When I look back over the last year, it is interesting to take stock of what I have achieved.   While it’s not a lot, I’m proud of it.  As I said, I published my first book, and that is a big deal.  I also started graduate school and am about half way through.  I have been out of college for 12 years and wasn’t sure I’d go back, and if I did I didn’t know what I wanted to study.  Well last year, after a little prodding from my supervisor, I went back to earn my M.A. in Human Resource Management.  This has made me realize that perhaps I should have studied business in undergraduate instead of criminal justice and psychology.

Though, more important than looking at what I have accomplished, looking towards the next 365 days is exciting and daunting.  Within the next year I should have another book (possibly two) published, my husband will be graduating with is doctoral, I should be nearly finished with my M.A., and there is a possibility for a relocation.  It’s an exciting time for us Staleys.  I look forward to seeing what we get to do in the 365 days.

Join me for the very last A to Z post on Zines

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

Leave a Reply

