The Writer

X is for /+\ (writing and revising)

I got a little creative on “X”, well really my husband got creative.  Since I’m not writing about xylophones or pirates, X is a difficult letter to do.  So, we are looking at it a little abstractly. Forwards and backwards slashes that make an X is like writing and revising (okay, so bare with me I’m stretching it a bit here).  Writing is like moving forward, hence the “/”, while revising is going back and looking over work you’ve already done, the “\” and the combination of the two make a book.

I’m currently back to drafting on Reverie (I know, about time).  I’ve taken a different approach on this story and it seems to be working well, at least for now.  I have continued my trend of writing whichever scene speaks to me the most, no matter where it occurs in the plot, but I have added a new element  to this method.  I have been writing scenes that will never appear in the book.  For example, lets say a conversation occurs that Malcolm does not know happened; such as a late night phone call between two other characters while he is asleep.  While writing Dissonance, I used to just make notes about what happened in these types of conversations or even jump ahead in the story line to where he finds out the conversation happened and just write that scene.  This book, I have decided to write the scene and the subsequently use parts of it when Malcolm becomes aware of the situation.

I know it sounds kind of odd, but writing these non-usable scenes in third person helps me get a good feel for the secondary and tertiary character’s mindsets and it gives me the ability to outwardly display emotion when they come into contact with Malcolm.  The secrets that are being kept from him and how the characters react around him due to those secrets.  While those scenes are not being directly utilized in the story, I feel that they are giving those characters more depth, and they are spurring my creativity and ideas that will be incorporated into the book.  I am hoping it will make revisions a little less painful due to not having to add as much depth to my characters after the fact.

Which brings me to the revision part of this post….

Revisions are a pain, but I enjoy working on them.  It’s an endless process and I’m sure if I go back to read Dissonance, I’ll be able to find several spots that I would change now.  The revision process is a necessary evil.  Evil as it may be, I enjoy it.  Revising my writing makes me constructively look at my writing and attempt to make it better.  Sometimes it helps to cut a scene, write in a new one, change character names, or word choices, but no matter what I do to my manuscript its all in the sake of making it the best it can be.

For me, I like to let the draft sit for a while before start revising.  Sometimes, I’ll even start revising the draft before I have even finished it.  I found that it takes much longer to polish the draft to it’s final version than writing that very first draft.  So, while I may be a third of the way through my first draft of Reverie, it will be months before it will be ready for publishing.  But no worries, I’ll keep you up-to-date on my progress.

 

Join me for the next post Y is for Year

We are almost done and can continue back to our regular posts.

 

Leave a Reply

