The Writer

W is for Wanderlust

Lately, I have had an insatiable urge to wander.  It could be due to having some expendable money, or perhaps it is the dank, grey skies that have plagued where I live.   Perhaps, its the compounding effects of the general dissatisfaction for where I live, or even the thoughts of nice weather approaching.  No matter the cause, I want to roam.  I want to see things I haven’t seen before and even visit places that I haven’t been in a long time.

I believe this wanderlust is a result of my creative spirit wanting to experience new things.  In the years I have spend writing, I have found my creativity comes out best when I am walking in new areas or places that are secluded.  This is one of the reasons I want to visit parks and recreational areas this summer.  While I have too many commitments and money restraints to just wander off as I desire, I can make a compromise to spend more time meandering on the weekends and evenings.  Which means the bug spray, sunblock, tennis shoes, and a change of clothing will soon find their way into my car; along with my beach roll and a journal, so I can write while I’m out if the urge strikes.

I’m looking forward to this storm system passing and the sun to come back out and bless us with it’s warmth.  And I will be wandering through the wooded park that sits right off the highway on my way home from work.

It is time to lose myself in nature and into my own creativity.

Join me for the next post X is for /+\ (writing and revising)

1 thought on “W is for Wanderlust”

  1. I’m proned to wanderlust too, although I think it may be in my DNA. I’m part Ponca, a Native American tribe related to the Dakota. Although they stayed in an area of the US back in its history, depending on the time of year, you would see them travel from one location to another to take advantage the what the land had to offer for them. Of course, I want to go much farther than that. I’d loved to go back to Europe for a while. Money is tight though so I’ll just dream.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

