Posted in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Goals, The Writer

U is for Unicorn

I think we all have a unicorn we seek.  Some idea, location, person, etc. that we want in our lives, but it’s like the illusive (or dare I say it… make believe) unicorn.  My unicorn is… surprise, surprise… balance.

I’ve spent a great deal of time reflecting and I have decided I tend to be the all or nothing type of person.  So striking a balance tends to be extremely difficult for me.  But at the same time, I realize in order for me to be successful, I must find a way to balance all the personas I wear in my life.  Office worker, student, writer, blogger, photographer, wife.. somewhere in those many hats there is away to maintain consistency in all my roles and the ability for them to coexist.  I just haven’t found it yet.

I am off balance most of the time with each role fighting for the lead.  Most recently it was the student role that took over my life, other times it has been wife, office worker, and writer.  It was the priority and EVERYTHING else took a back seat.  So, now that I am on a break I’m trying to get my home and work life back in order.  Work is the easy part of that equation.. I work 37.5 hours a week and during that time I’ll get caught up.  The hard part is getting my home back in order.  I have several house projects (painting and planting flowers) that I have put off, not to mention just standard spring cleaning.  So, now the catch up begins.  I figure a full week of finishing out house projects and then I should be back on my way to figuring out a plan to balance my roles.

I haven’t felt this unbalanced for a long time.  Long before I started a yoga practice or studying Buddhism.  I felt like I shifted back to a prior life, before I started working on self-development.  One thing I have learned in the past year, is while prioritizing projects is important, I can’t put all other tasks and projects on the back burner.  I lose motivation and slide into a burnout much quicker, than when I balance my roles out and engage in them with moderation instead of the take all lose all attitude I had been approaching them.

Join me for the next post V is for Vendor

 

 

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

5 thoughts on “U is for Unicorn

  1. Just wait until you add “mother” to your list. There’s a whole other level of balance that is needed then. Just saying… not that it isn’t worth it. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Like Dr. Suess said: “So be sure when you step, Step with care and great tact. And remember that life’s A Great Balancing Act. And will you succeed? Yes! You will, indeed! (98 and ¾ percent guaranteed) Kid, you’ll move mountains.”

    I liked it so much, that’s what I named my blog.

    @mirymom1 from
    Balancing Act

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I have two “unicorns:” balance and discipline. The balance I can relate. Discipline is something that eludes me, mostly because it takes making something a habit, and that doesn’t come easily. I struggle with both. And one doesn’t work without the other. It’s a circle. And right now, I feel like I’m unable to complete that circle.

    But I know I’ll get there. Just as you’ll get to the point where everything is balanced. Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

