A to Z Blogging Challenge, Marketing

M is for Marketing

Originally, I was going to post about me time, but by now we all know that I am going to be spending the next few weeks working on me by dedicating time to engage in the activities I like.  A little bit of “me” time is necessary for my mental health, I feel much less drained and more energetic after I spent time doing the things I enjoy.

So I’m shifting this post to marketing.  This is something that I need to focus on.  I have to work on the mental shift from an unpublished writer to a published one.  I understand the basics of marketing, but with a limited budget and an unknown name I have to be selective on how I market.

At the apex of my “brand” is my presence and approachability.  So, that means I need to become consistent with posting and social media presence.  The biggest issue I have is obscurity.  The sheer amount of books published a year makes it hard for anyone to become a household name.  While my ambitions aren’t that high, I still want to have a regular following.  I hope that building my fan base will help sell books, it’s not my main goal.  My goal is show people the excitement and joy of following your dreams, no matter how out of reach they seem.

Other than building my presence, I know I need to write more.  This has been a struggle for me as I have yet to find that mystical balance (more on this when I finally get to the U post).  As I said in the last post I will be working on finding a routine that can be sustained once my classes start again.  I am working on multiple projects that I think are fascinating (new books, a quarterly magazine, and a couple non-fiction ventures on my journey to finding a happiness).  This will not only fulfill my want to follow my dreams, but it also get more published items available my readers/fans.

Like many other new authors, I have an issue of reviews.  Part of my marketing plan is to recruit book bloggers to read and hopefully review Dissonance, which is available through the Kindle Lending Library and Kindle Unlimited (see what I did there).  To be honest, I’m not sure where to even start, obviously a quick Google search will render some book bloggers for me to contact.

But for the time, my focus will be on growing my presence and writing.

Join me for the next A to Z post New Adventures

 

1 thought on “M is for Marketing”

  1. Marketing! It should be designated a dirty word. I find it so difficult to do. Difficult to put yourself and your work forward without pushing it in people’s faces, difficult to know where and how to best expend your energy and resources. Ugh!
    When you said, ‘ I need to become consistent with posting and social media presence.’ I found I was nodding my head. It is what I need to do too.
    And when you added, ‘The biggest issue I have is obscurity. The sheer amount of books published a year makes it hard for anyone to become a household name. While my ambitions aren’t that high, I still want to have a regular following. I hope that building my fan base will help sell books, it’s not my main goal.’ That all totally resonated with me.
    Sigh! Taking this post to heart!
    I’m enjoying your A-Z post immensely, Amanda. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

