Posted in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Goals, Marketing

E is for Expansion

I thought about writing about excitement, expeditions,  experience, ebooks, or countless other E words, but  I decided expansion suits me best.  While I was super excited to publish Dissonance a couple months ago, and I just got back from vacation and I overly enjoyed getting away, those posts just didn’t feel right.

Expanding is basically my whole life.  I am in constant search for new information to transfer to knowledge.  I bore easily, so I look for exciting new things to occupy my mind.  Which is why last summer, I finally decided to pursue my master’s degree… I was bored with my job and wanted to enhance my skills.  (Lots of “E”s in this post).  I read new book fiction and non-fiction to satisfy my curiosity.  Wikipedia and Google very well might be the devil.  I watch documentaries. I visit museums on my vacations, for example we recently went to a Copper Museum in Clarkdale, AZ.  I love taking random weekend trips just to see something new, have a different experience.

Knowing that I am a person hat seeks out new opportunities to broaden my horizons, it should be know surprise when I say I want to expand my writing brand.  Currently, I am working on the Malcolm Stone Series, that loosely falls within the Family Saga and Thriller genres, I don’t want to be type-casted into that role.  I have plans to write in different genres  I’ve toyed with the idea of teen and preteen books, young adults, and possibly a children’s book in the future.

Though as an author, I want to expand my reach even further.  I want to help other writers reach their dreams and their goals.  It’s not enough for me to reach my own, I want to help others feel pride of achieving a dream.  This is why I run a community for writers on Google+, that will eventually be transferred to it’s own webpage.  It is also why one of my goals this year is to publish a Zine featuring other creative people (look for the  Z post at the end of the month).

I also want to expand the amount of books I have published. I am hoping to get the draft of Reverie completed in the next couple of months and have it published by late fall.  I have no clue if that is an achievable goal or not at this time.  I’ll have more updates once I get back to writing.

One of my ultimate goals for the year it to get a network of authors together to donate copies of our books to Little Free Libraries.  I think it would be fantastic to have copies of our books in these Little Free Libraries around the world or at least in your country, which might increase readership.  I want to compile a list of individuals who are willing to distribute books to Little Libraries around their cities and then match them to writers that want to donate books.

Join me tomorrow for my next A to Z Challenge post about Flowers

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

2 thoughts on “E is for Expansion

  1. Wow, you really do give new meaning to the phrase give back to the community. I’m very happy for you and for all that you’ve accomplished. It brings a giant smile to my face to know someone who is successful and wants to share their success with others. I’d be happy to contribute to your library progrm. Im also very interested in learning more about your Zine, but I guess I will have to wait until your letter Z post.

    Melissa Sugar
    http://melissasugarwrites.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

