Posted in The Writer, Writing Process

Carving out a space

A couple of weeks, I took it upon myself to carve out some “me” space.  Back in 2009, when I first started dabbling with writing, I had an at home office.  At the time I had the wonderful opportunity of working from home 3-4 days a week.  While I didn’t always write from my office, I did the majority of the time.

Adding a writing desk had been on my mind for sometime, the problem was I have limited space in my house and a lot of the desks I like were just too big.  Last week, I did some preliminary shopping online in search for that perfect small desk.  I found a few that were small and cheap, but I was afraid they would be cheaply made.  So I bypassed all those desks and decided it was time to go to shopping.  I ended up buying a small student desk with shelves from Target.  Of course I couldn’t get out of the store without buying a super soft shag rug to put my feet on.

After I got the desk put together, I sat down to write.  It was a peaceful and comfortable spot to write.  But as I sat in the uncomfortable kitchen chair staring at the wall, I discovered while the color of the paint is beautiful I hated the boring wall.  So I got up hunted through the house for some photos.  Apparently, staring at a blank wall is not very conducive to writing, so now it’s covered in a photo collage.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As all projects once my writing space was completed, I needed to accessorize.  I bought new curtains and a pet bed so my ferret can sleep beside me if she desires.  I had originally placed the pet bed on one of the shelves, but I have discovered she only uses it when it’s at my feet.

So far my writing place has seen some writing, but not near as much as I would hope.  On the other hand the desk is being used a lot. Though, I now have an additional obligation that I didn’t have when I set the writing space up, but more on that in the next post.

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

2 thoughts on “Carving out a space

  1. Great post Amanda – loved seeing the space and yes, I find you definitely need inspirational things around and comforting things when writing. Maybe another post could include a pic of your pet ferret – you’ve got me really intrigued! Hope you enjoy your new desk. Deborah 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My desk is smaller than yours and I share the room with my husband. We call is ‘the computer room’. I don’t have anything on the wall above the desk. However, there is a window that sits between my desk and my husband’s desk. Whenever I’m thinking, my head is turned to look out the window — even at night. My oldest cat usually lays behind me on the carpeted floor, with a plastic bag. (She loves to lick plastic. Yes, a weird cat.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

