Posted in A to Z Blogging Challenge, The Writer, Writing Process

W is for Work vs Writing

One of the downsides of being an adult in my 30’s is I have to work to pay bills, eat, and to have any fun. I have found when left to my own devices my most productive and energetic time of day is around 1:00 pm.  (Though while in the office I get a little sluggish around that time).  When I used to work from home, I took a break everyday at one to do laundry, clean the house, write, or even workout.  Now that I am working in an office, I can’t take that time to be creative (or clean).  I used to get frustrated about it, but now if I get that motivation to write while at work, I open my OneNote file and write an outline or scene that is running through my head and then get back to working.

I don’t write everyday, heck sometimes I don’t even write once a week (even though I try to).  I credit part of that to writer’s block and other distractions, but mostly I believe it’s because I spend the entire day at work (7.5 hours of clocked timed and an hour of unpaid lunch, 8.5 hours total) at a computer.  There are days when I get home and the last thing I want to do is spend another moment staring at a screen.  This affliction becomes worse in the summer.  I want to go outside and enjoy the season.  If I really feel like writing I may take my laptop outside and work or I might even start writing on paper and worry about transferring my handwritten notes onto the Word document later.  Most days I don’t write at least not until it’s dark and I have settled down for the evening.

Writing is work to and it’s important for me to show up to my writing job.  Though for my mental stability, I can’t treat my writing job as full-time.  I have to give myself a break from pressures.  A year or so ago I wrote a post about showing up and respecting the craft, while I still believe I have to ‘show up’, I have realized now that I can’t treat it like I do any other job.  Adding the pressures of writing and being creative on demand just does not work for me.  I get frustrated easier and give up writing for longer periods of time than if I just play loose with the job / hobby.  I am still looking for the perfect process, but for now I’ll stick with what I know works.  For now that means writing when I feel inspired and attempting to sit down at least once a week and write something… anything really (book related or not).

It’s all about balance:  sometimes I win and other times I lose.

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

Leave a Reply

