A to Z Blogging Challenge, Writing Process

O is for Own worst critic

This is one of those clichéd saying that does have a sliver of truth to it.  I am actually my worst critic, probably not.  There is going to be someone out there that doesn’t like the story.  But I am aware of what the perfect version of my story is, not necessarily how it was written so I will tend to harsh on my writing.  Trying to get the perfect story down on paper is nearly impossible, so I do the best that I can.

Being overly hard on my own writing came into light when I sent a copy of Dissonance out to an old high school friend, who spent years as an editor assistant.  When I compared my notes with hers it was entertaining to say the least.  There were passages where she would only have a word choice marked or grammatical issue stated, where on the same pages I was writing in 2 pt font to get all my notes marked in the margins.

Though, at other times I was not always writing more.  There were pages where I had little to no notes and she had written a ton.

While at times I am my own worst critic, I still think outside advice on my writing is a necessary part of the writing process.  Without outside critiques and input Dissonance would not be the book it is; some of my best ideas stemmed from an outside statement.

4 thoughts on “O is for Own worst critic”

  1. Hmm, I think the outside perspective helps just for that… an outside perspective. Things I hadn’t noticed, or that make sense to me with my life experience but would throw someone else off completely, are what comes up most.

    And inconsistencies. Cause I know the story I don’t always pick them up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree. That’s the best part of someone who is outside. As I was writing this post I kept thinking how narcissistic that phrase, I’m my own worst critic, sounded. That’s why I got on the outside perspectives.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I decided I really didn’t want to open the bag of worms that calling the phrase narcissistic could 😉 Something about making waves just didn’t settle well with me today.

        Like

Leave a Reply

