A to Z Blogging Challenge, Dissonance

G is for Genre

Trying shoehorn your writing into a genre can be a daunting task. When I started writing the Malcolm Stone series, I had no idea what genre I was writing.  I had never read anything quite like what I was writing.  Some books had elements of following someone’s life story, but were centered around a romance, mystery, etc.  My story on the other hand revolves around Malcolm’s life story and adds elements of suspense and romance.  The only thing I knew was my book fell in the large category of contemporary fiction.

That’s a large genre to fall into and I feared my book would be lost in the masses.  I started digging around in Amazon’s sub-genres and discovered this little niche called family saga.  After reading books that land in this genre and researching it I discovered that was exactly what I was writing. Who knew? My books follow a family’s life throughout some years, showing personal growth of one particular character.  I was excited that my book actually fit into a category other than fiction!

While categorizing your writing into a category can be annoying and difficult, it does serve a great purpose.  It allows the finished work to be discoverable!  From my research and book purchasing I have noticed it’s best to have an overall genre and the also to categorize within a smaller sub-genre to find those loyal genre readers.

8 thoughts on “G is for Genre”

  1. Ok, so when I started out, I had NO idea what genre my book was. Then my friend (who’s a professor of literature) said, ‘It’s part memoir, part non-fiction.’ Duh.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent post, Amanda. I had difficulties for a different reason – I couldn’t decide what genre to put it in, there were so many options! Also, children’s books have less sub-genres to pick from (I do believe that’s changing).

    Weirdly, Amazon stuck it under ‘sword and sorcery’ in addition to the genres I had chosen. Silly Amazon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope the children’s book genres are changing. It’s shame that there historically haven’t really been any genres.

      I think Amazon has lost it’s mind putting your book there, but perhaps people who read that also read what genres you chose. (grasping at straws here)

      Like

      1. If I’m to believe what some of the more established indie authors are saying, children’s books are getting a turn in the limelight. Hopefully this translates into being able to access a wider range of marketing strategies online – there are plenty of print opportunities, especially going direct to schools.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That would be awesome! I’m trying to think if I know any elementary school teachers. I know pre-school and high school. I’ll have to reach out to my social networks and see if we can get you into some schools 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

