Posted in A to Z Blogging Challenge, The Writer

E is for Elevator Pitch

EThe idea of an elevator pitch is to have a quick summary of what your story is about.  Ideally it is to the ability to sell your book in the amount of time you would be on an elevator.

I am in the final stages of revising Dissonance.  My book is starting to come up in casual conversations in my day-to-day life and I find myself without a good elevator pitch.  Lately, my book has come conversation, outside of my writing circle.  Which is a good thing, in a marketing sense that means there is interest to read the book translating into possible sales, but as a beginner at this whole author business, it’s hard to answer that dreaded question “What’s your book about?”  I typically stumble about saying, “It’s about a man whose wife dies in their home.  After her death, it’s revealed that he has suffered though physical and emotional abuse.  It [the book] shows the rebuilding of his character.”

I have come to realize it is essential to have a good pitch lined up and practiced for when this question inevitably comes up in conversation. It’s hard to talk about your book (to start out), but if you are prepared to answer the question it becomes easier. I realized the more pride and support I have found about my book the easier it is to talk about. (It also doesn’t hurt if the topic is brought up rather expectantly. Unlike how I keep running to the topic; random co-workers asking me about the book while I’m walking down the hallway)

My new prepared pitch is this:

Dissonance is narrated in first person perspective by a man who has lost his wife to unfortunate circumstances. The story explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and a mountain of lies.

If the person is still interested, I can follow-up with parts of the plot that won’t give the story away. The main point is being prepared for people to ask about your story, because once people find out you have or are writing a book they are naturally curious and want to support your ventures.

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

12 thoughts on “E is for Elevator Pitch

  1. So THAT’S why they’re called “elevator pitches…”

    I think the cool thing about pitching something verbally in a social gathering or whatever is the ability to be organic about it, and I think that’s something to take advantage of. You can’t do that in, say, the logline or a pitch or treatment. Bouncing the idea off of the other person, seeing how they react, and tweaking your pitch in accordance with your [live!] audience’s reaction is something really cool about being able to pitch in person. Which is, I think, the opportunity you have in hand, I think.

    Like

    1. I completely agree! The problem with being completely unprepared (at least for me) is I don’t get the main points across and I stammer around a bit. It turns out something like, oh I don’t know then I start rambling plot details.

      I like having the pitch prepared and then of course it deviates from interaction to interaction; giving more or less detailed depending how interested the person seems.

      Like

      1. Are you kidding me. Try to explain not shopping. How boring does that sound. But in my head, knowing all that I know, it’s actually rather interesting. But, people don’t always want to know, I can see their eyes glaze over, and I curse myself for even trying. Now I have it down to a one-liner, followed up by a question about them. Much better!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I find it interesting how if I describe something to someone in conversation I can do it quickly and succinctly, but when I try and do it on the page it becomes over complicated – I’ve started talking out loud sometimes when writing prose and it has made a difference. Luckily I don’t need to do elevator pitches!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I can understand that! I have started talking to myself a lot lately, just trying to make sure everything I write has the right feel to it. I have come to realize that opening sentences are a pain in writing and in conversation. When talking to someone about the book, once I get past that first few summary sentence I have no problem going on to talk about the book and it’s plot, characters, etc. It’s just that pesky opening line!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

