Dissonance, Reverie, The Writer

Returning from a break

It’s been nearly a month since I last posted.  Blogging had lost some of its luster.  I was having difficulty coming up with new posts and even when I did have ideas I was having difficulty finishing the posts.  I just couldn’t bend the words to say what I wanted them to say.  Basically it was time to take a break.

I write a lot about my writing process and progress on my book.  I felt like I wasn’t getting anywhere with my book, so I was having issue coming up with what to say next.  In reality, I was disappointed in myself.  I had originally planned to have Dissonance released last winter, but it still sits on a flash drive unfinished.  Though to be fair, it has been through a round of beta reading and revisions.  It’s close, but not quite done.  Last week before my husband and I went off on our vacation, I sent Dissonance out to two more readers.  I wanted fresh sets of eyes to see if I had fixed the glaring issues or if there are still more to be seen.  I am equal parts nervous and excited to see their feedback.

During our vacation, I relaxed and didn’t worry about writing, SAMSUNG CSCblogging, or social media.  It was a relaxing and rejuvenating week.  We spent the week exploring the southwest, namely New Mexico and Arizona.  The week felt like it lasted forever (in a good way).  We explored a few national parks and I took tons of pictures.  It was a great way to recharge my batteries.  As most of you know I’m a nature person.   I had never been out west to the high desert, but I wouldn’t be lying to say it was love at first sight.

On the long drive back home (we put a total of 4,500 miles on our rental car), I had the realization that the reason I wasn’t motivated to blog was lack of fodder.  It wasn’t that I was bored with blogging it was just I didn’t have anything to say.  If I am not actively writing, I can’t blog about my progress.  While Dissonance might not be ready to be published just yet, that doesn’t mean I can’t start working on revisions to Reverie.  A lot of the plot line changed since I finished that draft (Aug 2013), so I know I have a ton of revisions.  So instead of impatiently waiting for my readers to get back to me with their feedback, I can keep myself busy and write.

After all how can I be a writer if I don’t write?

 

Next steps for Dissonance:

Complete revisions based on new readers

Commission a cover artist

Hire a proofreader

 

3 thoughts on “Returning from a break”

  1. I’m still, forever, on my 1st draft. I changed stories (have 3 started), going back to the one that is more of a journey of the protagonist. I don’t blog much about my progress. I do have a post called Weekly Recap but the other post I do each week has nothing to do with any progress or lack of it. I’ve been using writing prompts for that post. This may be something you might want to try.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Amanda. It sounds like your break has done exactly what you needed it to do. I’m also learning how to manage my expectations, while maintaining progress and enthusiasm. I also took a break and am blogging less often – I’m going to try and do a monthly post rather than weekly so I have more time for writing and reduce the pressure to produce something weekly. By the way, your trip sounded fantastic. Good luck with your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

