Writing Prompts, Writing Samples

A writing prompt and a new door opens

At the beginning of the year I started posting writing on the Google+ Community I run.  (You can find more about the Writers’ Coffeehouse along with links to the community here.)  A few weeks ago, the prompt was A Dense Forest.  I typically don’t do writing prompts, unless I can incorporate them into my blog since I have been trying  to get the Malcolm Stone series out to the world.  But last week I wasn’t feeling like working on my writing.  I had lost the spark, mostly due to the time away from the project and the hard work that remains to finish it.  I decided it was time to get back to writing and one of the best ways I know it to start something new.  I had the prompt that I wanted to write, but just didn’t know when I would get around to it. So one afternoon on my lunch break, I decided to use the prompt for some free writing to get me in the writing mood.  I only got an introduction sorted out in the short lunch break, but I’ll share what I have so far.

A Dense Forest

2013-09-21 17.51.23

Oliver stood at the edge of the darkest densest forest he had ever seen. The elders in town warned all young children to avoid entering the dark tree-line. The forest contained a mystical and unpredictable force. Legend said children who entered the forest would not be same when they returned, if they ever returned. There were stories about young boys and girls who entered the very same spot Oliver was standing and they were never seen again. Oliver was certain it was just an old wives tale to keep kids from entering the wilderness and getting lost.

Though he didn’t believe the nonsense the town folk said about the forest, he was still having a hard time entering the tree line. He took his pack off his back to check his supplies for the fifth time. He had water, lunch and a snack. He had also packed flares, a compass and his camera. He had even strapped a small blanket to the bottom of his pack, in case he became lost and had to keep warm. He finally steeled his nerve and took his first step into the forest.

******

It’s still in very rough draft form and I’m not sure when I’ll get back to working on it, but for now it has performed it’s purpose and has gotten me back on the wagon to writing.  I will eventually get back to Oliver and finish this short story, hopefully the first of many to come.  I have never been good a short story composition, so I’m looking forward to finishing this one.

1 thought on “A writing prompt and a new door opens”

Leave a Reply

