Dissonance, The Writer, Writing Process

A Writing Update

I admit, rather hesitantly, I have not been dedicating time for writing as of late.  The last few weeks have been a whirlwind; family member in the hospital with a heart condition, then I promptly caught what I can only assume was the plague.  Normally when I get sick, it’s minor and only has me down for a day or so. What ever this super virus I caught, presumably by licking the buttons on the elevator, effectively took me down for over a week.  It started as a simple sinus issue complete with the sore throat and burning eyes.  Within 24 hours that minor issue turned into some sort of upper respiratory infection that had me coughing like an old woman who smoked ATE cigarettes from the time she could speak.  Of course, I would contract this crazy plague right before the weekend.  Two weeks later and I’m still coughing and have congestion, but it’s getting better and I’m still refusing going to the doctor.  Though even the refusal does have an expiration date on it, if I am not better by Friday, I’ll make an appointment.

The events of the past few weeks is a convenient excuse for not working on my book, but not 100% truthful.  I was starting to wind down even before I got sick.  I have been so overwhelmed at work, it’s hard to want to dedicate time to sit down and spend more time on a computer.  Other activities such as vegging out in front of the television seemed much more welcoming, but work is finally winding back down to a reasonable workload and it’s time to get back on schedule.

I was working on going through edits for Dissonance, compiling notes and rewriting scenes.  I am getting so close to the end of this project it’s exciting, but at the same time completely uncharted waters.  Once I finish my edits, I have to think about how to proceed.  Do I get another round of reviews? Or do I seek out a proofreader?  Do I attempt to make my own cover art or hire someone?  So many different routes to choose, it makes this whole adventure exciting.

4 thoughts on “A Writing Update”

  1. Yes – so many options! Re: cover art, if you have artwork that you want to be used my graphics girl can do the design & typography for you on a budget. Just something to consider!

    It’s also exciting because there aren’t really any rules. Good luck making decisions lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope you don’t have to resort to going to the doctor. My son got the same ‘plague’. He did go to the doctor and was told to take a decongestant. He took it for too long, which actually made the symptoms reappear. All because the doctor didn’t set a time limit on the medicine. I would say home remedies are better for this one.

    It was probably a good idea to take a small break before doing all the editing. It will probably give you a clearer picture of what you need to change and what to leave alone. At least, that’s what I’ve read at Writer’s Digest and the like. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

