Posted in Dissonance, Writing Process

Out with the old, in with the new

There are several things I could blog about today.  I could talk about the giving up yoga midway through the year, only to pick it back up in the past couple weeks.  Or how the standard routine in the Staley house has been turned upside down.  Or even all the new friends (virtual and in person) we have made this year.  But instead, I think I’ll spend a little time on goals.

Like most people this is the time of year I start making or at least thinking about goals for 2015.  Every year we make tons of little goals or a couple big ones for the new year, but typically within a few short months we forget about them or decide they are not important.  For me the big goal for 2014 was finishing my book Dissonance and getting it out on the market by December.  I originally wanted to finish writing that first draft by February…. well February came and went and the draft was no closer to being done than it was in January.  I pushed it back a few months.  I kept pushing my deadline back, until I decided to get rid of the self-imposed deadline all together.  I finished that first draft in late August.  I attempted to quickly edit and revise the draft, send it out to beta-readers still trying to have it ready to market it before the end of the year.

Towards the middle of October, I realized that goal was unrealistic.  It was time to step back and think about why I was really trying to push myself for a 2014 publication date.  Why was it so important to be done by the end of the year?  It came down to pride, I wanted to have something to show for all the hard work I had put in.  I had been waiting for the day I could say “I have a published book” for over five years.  I quickly decided that was not a good enough reason.  So I decided to slow down, after all this was going to be my debut book, it needs to be done right.

It was time for a new goal.  I wanted to make sure the book was the best it could be.  I would need a professional editor and cover artist.  I decided to push back the publication date.  The only thing riding on the 2014 release date was my ego, and I would rather have something done right than done fast.  I am now hoping for a late winter or early spring release.  In the interim, I am working towards making Dissonance the best book I can.  But more importantly, I have learned to be easier on myself and not stretch myself too thin and stress over goals that only injure my ego if they aren’t completed on time.

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

4 thoughts on “Out with the old, in with the new

  1. Goals are for people who make excuses. As you have achieved writing the major part of your work, you don’t need excuses. Now is the time, as you say, to make your work as good as it can be. Think of the disappointment to rush the final stage and spend the rest of your life regretting your decision. That is not to say ‘Don’t Let Go’ when the time is right.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good choice. I think it’s better to put out a good book on the first try (even if it takes longer) than to push yourself for an arbitrary/unrealistic date and then have to fix things later.

    You’ve inspired me to look at my own goals for 2015. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Totally respect your choice! Putting out a work that is as good as you can make it is far better than putting out a work that isn’t up to your standards.
    Learning to be easier on oneself is still something I am working on. I think it takes a lot of time

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

