Beta-reading, Dissonance, Malcolm Stone, Writing Process

There is progress to be made and beta readers to be found

I want to start off by saying I’m glad to be back!  I have missed interacting with each of you, providing each other with support, and feeling the love each of you send me every time you read, like, or comment on my posts.  I ❤ you all!

 

This week I am in the middle of edits to Dissonance.  Editing has been going much easier than I expected.  It could be because I am only on chapter 9 of 37 and I have read those chapters repeatedly, or perhaps it’s because I have been reading each chapter by chapter aloud.  (Luckily, my husband isn’t home to give me weird looks!)

When someone first suggested doing edits by reading my work out loud I thought they must be insane, but now I think that person might have actually been brilliant!  The idea first started growing on me when I was reading blog posts back to my husband.  I would catch small errors in spelling or missing words.  I didn’t really start to value reading my writing out loud until I started reading him passages from my book.

Yesterday, I made it through seven chapters.  I found plenty of errors I had missed while reading aloud to myself that I had overlooked when reading silently.  I found several awkward sentences, words I had left out in my hurry to type, and repeated words.  I even found where I had accidentally used the brother’s name instead of the father-in-law’s name in a scene.  I have also realized that it is much easier to spot grammatical issues that Word doesn’t pick up, such as comma uses.   While the spell check has gotten much better, it still isn’t perfect.  While I am talking / reading, I notice the natural pauses in the sentence that I had overlooked while writing.  I have also noticed when I’ve neglected to take the surroundings in consideration or forgotten to add body language to go with the dialogue.

So if you only take one thing away from this post let it be this…. READ YOUR WORK OUT LOUD!

By the end of this month, I should be ready for beta-readers.  So here is your chance.  If you are interested in beta-reading and giving constructive feedback, please fill out the form below.  I ask one additional thing for anyone who wants to beta-read Dissonance, please left me know what type of cover would make you pick this book up off the shelf.  I have some ideas, but I want to brainstorm with other creative people who have read my book.

 

Dissonance

Planned Release: Winter 2014

Malcolm Stone was born into an affluent family in the Boston area.  His influence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist.  His musical career is starting to gain momentum, when his wife is murdered in their home.  After her death, the truth of their relationship comes out.  Malcolm endured years of physical and emotional abuse at the hands of his beloved wife.  His alibi can not be confirmed, and he is tried for her murder.  Dissonance is a story of heartbreak, forbidden love and intrigue.

 

Next Steps in the Process: (In no particular order)

Hire a Cover Artist

Edits from beta-reader suggestions

Hire a professional editor

Decide if I am doing a crowd-founding campaign

Finalize Website and Vlog

Newsletter

6 thoughts on “There is progress to be made and beta readers to be found”

  1. Eek! I’m so excited! There are so many of us close to publishing, and it’s motivating to see people’s progress!

    I’m not going to sign up for beta reading, because I have a few under my belt at the moment, and honestly I’m doing a great job time-wise right now. Also, I’d really like to just *enjoy* your book, rather than need to critique it.

    Once I’ve finished my current edits (only a few chapters to go), I’ll do a read-aloud. Thanks for the reminder 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m kind of afraid to read aloud. Every time I do, I get the yawns. When my son was still a kid, I was so happy that he was so interested in learning how to read because then I had him read to me instead of the other way around.

    I do print out what I write. I take it away from the room where the computer is, usually the kitchen, and start reading and marking it up like crazy. :/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

