Posted in Dissonance, Malcolm Stone, The Writer, Writing Process

Objects in the mirror are closer than they appear…

It’s time to get back on track.  The past couple of months have been overwhelming.  I have set aside writing, with the excuse of needing to work on life goals.  While those other goals are important, they were not as time-consuming as I led myself to believe.  I realize now that I was using life as a distraction from writing.

I am nearing the end of this draft; much sooner than originally thought.  I had estimated this draft would be around 85,000 words.  I spent last week reading through my book looking for plot holes and areas that needed fleshed out along with trying to get back into Malcolm’s character.  I came to the realization Dissonance is going to be shorter than I originally assumed.  After reading through, I noticed I am only missing two major scenes that come up to about two, maybe three chapters.

The two (three) missing chapters are major parts that tie into the second book.  I keep using the excuse that they are delicate chapters and I need to concentrate to make sure to get them right.  While that is true, it is mostly a delay tactic.  I just need to write them.  I can always go back and fix them later.  Now that I have realized that I am distracting myself from writing, I feel like I can now move past this stage and get back to the actual writing.  After all I am almost done with this first draft!  It’s exciting that Dissonance is nearing completion.  I am looking forward to the editing process and polishing this book up nicely.

The object in the mirror is closer than it appears… it’s time to get these last two chapters written.

wpid-20140714_090539.jpg

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

One thought on “Objects in the mirror are closer than they appear…

  1. The first step is noticing, then admitting, and then doing something about it. Mistakes are for learning from right?
    This morning, when I was writing my day’s goals, I noticed there were several ‘urgent’ things that would not have been urgent if I’d been more organised. I also had writing at the bottom of my list but realised it was false economy. I was fretting so much over how I didn’t have time to write that I wasn’t being productive at the things I was trying to do! So its down and wrote anyway which made it easier to get the other stuff done. It means I’ll have more to do when I get back from work tonight, but it also means I will feel better and thus be more productive.

    Priorities and excuses abound, but I think we all really know what’s important to us. Sometimes it just takes a while for us to acknowledge it. I’m looking forward to reading your work in the near future 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

