Posted in Dissonance, Malcolm Stone, Reverie, Writing Samples

Lucky 7’s blog hop

Last week Mishka at a Writers Life for Me, wrote a post about lucky 7’s.   The rules are post  7 lines (or sentences) starting at line (or sentence) 7 from page 7 or 77 of your work in progress.  I decided to post from both Dissonance and Reverie.

 

Dissonance page 7 line 7

“Malcolm! It’s seeping through your dress shirt!” I shrugged. “Take the shirt off so I can soak it. I know that is a tailor-made garment. I have some club soda that should get it out.” Without thinking about it, I took the dress shirt off, doing so exposed a series of bruises and scratches on my arms. She took one look at them and covered her mouth and walked away towards the back of her condo. She disappeared for a while and when she returned she had a first aid kit in her hand. “Let me see your arm.” I started to object. She jerked my arm back as I started to move it. “Let me fix your wound.” She started to roll up my undershirt. “Holy shit.” I turned my eyes from her. I didn’t want to see her judging me.

 

Reverie page 77 Line 7

I got in the truck and drove towards the firehouse. I was hoping Mark would be there. I did not want to have to go out to his house.   I thought it would be easier to talk to him on somewhat neutral ground. When I pulled up to the firehouse, I saw his white dinged up Silverado in the parking lot a long with a couple other cars. I was relieved that he was at work and there were other people there. I didn’t figure he would create a scene in front of other people.

I walked into the firehouse. Mark was the first man I saw. “What do you want Stone?”

 

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

2 thoughts on “Lucky 7’s blog hop

    1. I thought it was a fantastic idea and had to steal it even though I wasn’t tagged. If I would have written consecutively instead of jumping around like a flea, I would have shared page 77 of Dissonance as well, since page 7 actually falls in the first chapter and is already featured on this blog… but oh well 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

