Posted in Dissonance, Malcolm Stone, Marketing, Writing Process

Expansion Time

If all goes as planned, I am approximately six months from self publishing my first book.  I decided it was about time to expand my network.  As you might have noticed, I have created an Author Facebook page.  I was apprehensive about sharing my writing journey on Facebook.  When I first started this journey several years back, I used to update my friends about my writing.  There was a little support, but then it turned into that same old Family Guy line.  I realize it meant as a joke and in good fun (as I have a pretty good sense of humor), but this was different to me.  It became annoying and demotivating.  I stopped sharing writing updates with my friends and just talked in person on occasion to the ones that were interested.  Last month when I posted, Accepting the Role, I felt it would be hypocritical, saying we should own the title of writer, if I wasn’t sharing that information with my friends and family.  So I went out on a limb and posted a link to my blog, specifically to the draft of Chapters 1 and 2 of Dissonance.  I was amazed by the positive reception.  I guess over the years many of my friends realized writing wasn’t a passing fancy with me, but I was determined to do it.  Now I have been regularly posting my blog posts to Facebook, though the response has not been as overwhelming as it is on Google+, but the audiences are different.  Facebook are people who I know and don’t necessarily share common interests, while on Google+ most of my followers are writers.

In part of my efforts to expand my network and work on a marketing strategy I decided to start a monthly newsletter.  Originally I was going to skip this step.  I wasn’t sure if anyone would actually read the information or if was going to be viewed as spam.  I also thought, what’s the point of sending out this emailing if all the information is already on my blog and other social media.  So I posed the questions to the members of the Writers’ Coffeehouse.  Most of the comments were unconvincing, until Zee commented “One advantage I can see is a monthly summary.  If your readers don’t catch up for a while (like me!) a monthly or 2-monthly reminder wouldn’t be too in-your-face in terms of frequency”.

That statement alone changed my mind.  I put away all those worthless thoughts (what if no one reads it or no one signs up?).  I decided it was time to take this title of being a writer to the next level and start playing in the marketing field.  Tuesday, I published the first issue of my monthly newsletter.  I had a lot of fun coming up with the material.  This writing update newsletter will be published during the first week of every month and will include a brief writing update (important news), a few of my favorite photos taken the month prior, a progress report on my current project including current word count, word count goal, finished chapters, the next steps, goals for the next month,etc.  I have also included my top blog posts for the month prior (in case you missed them) and the top interacted with conversations over at the Writers’ Coffeehouse.  My way of paying it forward, each month I will also feature another author.  This month I featured the talented Christine Campbell.  If you are a writer and would like to be featured please contact me, I would love to help.

 

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

5 thoughts on “Expansion Time

  1. Good for you! I was at first a little terrified of all the marketing that I knew would come, but I’ve actually found it to be lots of fun and a productive distraction when I need a break from writing. Just liked your FB page, and heading over to check out your first newsletter!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great newsletter, Amanda, and I know it’s just going to get bigger and better from here on in! I’m really excited to hear you’re publishing soon – go you! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

