Posted in Dissonance, The Writer

Working Against the Clock

Tick….Tock….Tick….Tock

wpid-storageemulated0DCIMCamera2014-01-28-21.32.30.jpg.jpg

I am working against the clock, I had originally wanted to finish my first draft of Dissonance by the end of February 2014.  In December when I made the goal, I thought it was going to be a push to finish at the appointed date, but a completely obtainable goal.  That was before the seasonal depression hit and this year it hit hard.  I have always noticed a slump in my activity level during the winter, but since moving back from Florida, it seems to get worse each year. I had a hard time keeping up with my blog, let alone writing on Dissonance.  I wrote some, but not near the amount that I was hoping.  So after February came and went, I reassessed my writing pace and thought the end of May.  “If I keep this slow snail pace I’m working at right now, it should be no problem to finish Dissonance by the end of May.”  Well here we are a little over half way through May and I just crossed the 50,000 word mark.  I am aiming for about 75,000 to 80,000.  Not sure I’m going to make that goal either.

I realize 25,000 to 30,000 words is not that much, but I’m not sure I’ll get it done.  I’m going to try like hell, but I’m not going to guarantee that I will cross that finish line on May 31st.  As many of you know, I am going through a lot of life changes right now.  Autumn is going hold a lot of changes for the two of us and in three short years a lot of different opportunities will be opened for us.  One day I might even be able to have a full-time writing career, but I try not to get too far ahead of myself.  Right now it’s best to think about the here and now.  With all the changes happening, I realize I really need to get this draft done before August.  Once he starts school, I’m not sure how much “free” time I will have.

To add to the pressures of my own deadlines, the depression that I had thought ran off with the return of sunlight and warmer weather is still here, strong as ever.  I have tried meditation and yoga attempting to have a more active lifestyle.  Some days it works and others, well not so much. I think it is time to shed this label of seasonal depression and call it was it is. It’s really no surprise to me that I am having a little difficulty transitioning into this new life, if I look back over the past year. A lot has happened!  I was already on the cusp of my maximum anxiety load and this, though very temporary, has put me over the edge.  At least I realize that in a few short months, I am going to look back in this and laugh about how I was making a mountain out of a mole hill.  In the meantime I’m going to keep my head up, attempt to smile and work through this.

I have a lot of writing related plans for the next six months, but first and foremost I have to get back in the groove of writing. The past two weeks have been the worst, I have barely gotten 2,000 words written. Partially because some of my remaining scenes my character is in a severe depression, and though at most I have a very mild case of depression, the idea of dwelling in the darkest recesses of my mind does not sound overly appealing. The other part is I have non-writing obligations that demand my attention especially if we are going to make it through this doctoral program in one piece.

I guess the moral of this story is despite my brain’s current malfunction and my other obligations, I am going to continue writing on Dissonance and attempt to finish the first full draft as close to my deadline of the end of the month as possible.

💕 As a side note, thank you all for your continued interest in my writing and my brief character description I posted Sunday, you keep me pushing forward with my writing even when I think I should set it aside and concentrate on other obligations! 💕

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

6 thoughts on “Working Against the Clock

    1. The funny thing is nearly everything, with exception of the writing, is going according to plan. Everything is moving along at a crazy fast speed… year of the horse, I guess 🙂

      Like

  1. Year year of the horse is right. This year is just speeding by, no wonder we have a hard time keeping up. This was a beautiful post by the way. Keep going at a speed that works, one day at a time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Inger! I have to really focus on one day right now.. when I start looking too far forward it’s just very overwhelming. Too many unstable forces are hanging in the balance 🙂 But it’s turning out to be a beautiful year, despite how I’m feeling right now

      Like

  2. I get seasonal depression. Physical exercise helps me but it’s nothing like yoga. I ride a stationary bike 5 to 6 days per week. Yes, it sounds like your depression is a little more serious. Talk to your doctor. Even the GP can help with this.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your kind words Glynis 🙂 I am getting ready to go on a mini vacation this week and we will see if a break from it all helps. I’m hoping a little real relaxation does the trick or at least helps.

      Like

Leave a Reply

