Posted in Dissonance, Photography, Writing Process

Beautiful weather and a busy weekend

Writing has been going slowly.  I want to blame it on the beautiful weather and busy weekends, but I know as well as you do that those excuses are just lame cop outs.  Last week was absolutely beautiful and I felt like we were being pulled from both directions by friends and family.  Last weekend was the busiest weekends we have had so far this spring.  We went with friends to a comedy club on Friday night, Saturday we drove 30 miles north to a nursery to buy our mothers flowers for Mother’s Day, then we drove two hours southwest to my parents house to visit with my family.  Sunday we drove two hours northeast to visit with his family.  We were home every night after midnight.  Going back to work Monday was almost like having a vacation.  All joking aside I enjoyed spending time with everyone and had a wonderful time, but unfortunately it lent very little time to write.

Lately, I feel like I have neglected my writing.  I have only been spending a few hours a week writing.  I am making progress, albeit slow progress, but progress is progress.  I have noticed with my new structured writing of only spending an hour or two at a time writing, my thoughts are more organized.

Today was the first day since last Wednesday that I have taken the time to actually write.   I finished the chapter I worked on last week.  I wrote a little over 300 words and I feel satisfied with that number.  I have already decided the section I want to work on next and can spend tomorrow mulling it over.

I was hoping to have the first draft done by the end of May, but I have so many things going on right now that I am having difficulty focusing on the last few remaining chapters.  I hate being so cryptic, but it’s too early in the game to disclose much information.  I am hoping by midsummer I can disclose more.  In the mean time I am going to be content with the work that I am getting done and enjoy this wonderful weather and busy weekend.

I have accomplished one thing during these busy weekends;  I finally got the last photo in my seasons series.  I think I want to replace my summer photo, but as of right now I have all four.  I’ve also decided the sky is grey way too much!  Going to retake the summer photo on a day with the bluest sky possible!

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

7 thoughts on “Beautiful weather and a busy weekend

    1. I hope you have found your writing groove. I am still in protest, but other things are getting done so at least that’s a plus. I have also signed up for two email courses one on Dialogue and the other on Believable Characters. So at least I’m writing a little bit.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Actually I did get into a bit of a groove this week, and got quite a bit written in my novel, thanks! Those email courses sound great! Hope it helps you find your groove again too!

        Like

  1. The weather here has been a mixture. There’ll be 3 days of rain and then a couple of days of sunshine. Either way it hasn’t ruined my motivation yet. This could be due to the fact that I’ve laid 2 hours for writing in the early evening. Chances are I wouldn’t be out and about anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We’re going into Winter here, so that Autumn photograph pretty much shows how it is here. It sounds like you’re in a really good place with your writing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

