Posted in The Writer

Sometimes, you just need to listen

Thursday morning my alarm went of at 5:45 am as usual.  I silenced it and waited for my second alarm to go off at 6:10, the one that says if you don’t get out of that bed right now you are going to be late for work.  When that alarm went off, I was so comfortable in bed I didn’t want to move.  I had read an article recently 20 Questions to Help You Create Your Best Life Ever, one of the questions was “What do I love to do”.  As I was laying in bed I was thinking if I didn’t have to go to work today, what would I love to do?

I was so comfortable, the only thing I could think was if I didn’t have to go to work today I would lay right here next to my husband and snuggle in until I was ready to get up.  Then I had the realization, I didn’t have to go to work.  I get three personal days a year, last year I managed to lose a half personal day at the end of the year.  The decision was quickly made, I got up and called in and used a personal day.  I crawled back in and my husband asked what I thought I was doing.  I told him I was taking the day off.

We slept in until around 9:00 am then we got up and had breakfast.  I played around on social media for a while, while looking for something to do that day.  I have had a horrible case of spring fever.  I have been looking forward to spring and blooming flowers so much that it seems to be taking forever.  I started looking to see if there were any indoor gardens in Indianapolis that I didn’t know about.  I was having difficulties justifying spending money to walk around a garden that would be filled with orchids and the outdoor gardens would still be dormant from the long cold winter.  I had considered driving north to Fort Wayne to the botanical gardens, but instead opted to drive south to Indianapolis in favor of some additional errands that could be ran while we were there.

wpid-20140404_122929.jpgJay came up with the idea to stop at the big garden store on our way to town.  We stopped at one of our favorite restaurants for a falafel sandwich and then drove a block to the garden center.  It was wonderful.  They only had pansies for blooming flowers, but it was fun to look at them and say which ones I liked and which ones were just alright.  We then went into the greenhouse and they had these adorable “fairy gardens” that I so desperately want to try to make.  It was like a dollhouse for gardeners.  We spend well over an hour walking around the garden shop, decided on what plants we wanted to by to put up by our front door, since it was barren and depressing looking.   We weren’t quite in the market yet, but at least we have a great idea of what to put in that empty spot.  We also decided on the mother’s day present we are going to get his mother.  But before we left I bought two little terrarium plants.  A grassy like plant that I don’t remember what it was called and a miniature purple African Violet for my desk.

We ran our errands then returned home and I spent the evening writing.  I returned to work well rested and in a great mood.  It was fantastic having that extra day off to recharge my batteries.  I would love to say I went back to work on Friday and got a lot accomplished, but that would be a lie.  Thursday when I was out having tons of fun we had a lot of rain before noon and the city I work in was flooded.  Our department was asked to help clean up the flood damage to a local food pantry, so in my wonderful mood I volunteered to help clean up.  Though the poor food shelter lost a lot of goods and shelving units, we had a lot of fun coming together and helping clean the water and mud out of the building for about two hours.  Once back in the office I just couldn’t focus on computer work so I opted to do more manual labor of cleaning out our file room.  I enjoyed my day at work on Friday, even though today my muscles are a little sore from the extra lifting.

Today is only Saturday, but that extra day off has made me feel like I should be going back to work tomorrow, but I still have one more day to enjoy.  Sometimes you just have to listen to your body and ask yourself what would you love to do today.  You might be surprised what the answer will be.  I have noticed mine aren’t always in tune with my occupation, which will cause me to pause and wonder if I am in the correct field, but that is a question for another time!

What would you love to do?

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

4 thoughts on “Sometimes, you just need to listen

  1. There are times right now when I feel I need more ‘alone’ times. You would think I have enough as it is seeing that I don’t have a job to go to, my husband works 8 hours 5 days a week, and often, I don’t go with him when he visits his mom on Saturdays. I would do so much with that time, which is something else that surprises me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

