Posted in Dissonance, The Writer

Flying by the seat of my pants

I wonder how many more things I can distract myself with tonight?  I had barely gotten the words typed on to the screen I got up for the dozenth time.  I had over creamed my coffee.  Yes, I just brewed a fresh pot of coffee at nearly 8 pm.  No worries, it’s decaf so I will have no problems falling asleep tonight.  A few months ago I traded out the majority of my coffee selections for decaffeinated.  I leave my caffeine intake to green tea and an occasional soda.  I digress.

I have sat down this evening to write a blog post, but the only problem is I don’t really know what to write.  I have never been one that likes to write or talk just to hear my own voice, but after my previous blog post on changing my process to include writing on days I really don’t want to write I felt I needed to post something today since Wednesday is one of my designated writing days.  Normally, an idea for a post will pop up during the day or the week prior, but this week I am drawing a blank.  I’m flying by the seat of my pants today.  So I will apologize for any rambling that I might do.

During the process of attempting to motivate myself to sit down and write this post, I made an interesting observation.  I noticed I really didn’t want to sit down and was finding everything I could to distract me from this keyboard.  I cooked supper (nothing unusual), did an extra load of laundry, folded all the towels (normally my husband does the laundry and folds it), did the dishes, even made a pot of coffee.  So what was keeping me from my keyboard.  It couldn’t be the mere fact that I had nothing to write about.  I could come up with something.  (Earlier in the day I was considering posting little known facts about myself.)  I figured there must be something deeper keeping me from writing.

I thought about it, as I was going about my distractions.  Then it came to me… I don’t want to write the blog post because I want to work on my book.  Lately my evening hours have been slipping away from me, and I am not getting everything done I had planned.  I don’t feel like I have put enough time in with my manuscript and am starting to run out of things to say about writing.  Anyway if I can’t finish this book in the next couple months, who am I to even pretend to know what I am talking about when it comes to writing.  So I am off to work on Dissonance in hopes to get a few scenes completed in the next three hours before I have to drag myself off to bed.

In the meantime, since I’m a complete slacker hop on over to Happy Ambition and read the interview Byron Edgington participated in.  If you are interested in participating in the Happiness Interviews please let me know!

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

3 thoughts on “Flying by the seat of my pants

  1. It sounds like we’re on the same wavelength. I had a friend critique just a little bit of what I’ve written so for in my writing project. I asked her to do it because I felt that I might be rambling in places or, at least, not being concise enough. She did a wonderful job, of course, and it gave me inspiration and motivation to keep on going. Yet, I really like doing 2 posts each week and wanted to get the 2nd one out of the way for this week. I was having to pull and tug to get the words out for it so that I can edit the thing later today.

    Like

  2. I sympathize with you, Amanda, (& I’m not talking about the decaffeinated coffee change – I’m down to 1 small teaspoon of instant, but drink a lot of chicory instead) because I do the same – set targets and then become stressed trying to achieve them.
    On the positive side, if we don’t push ourselves, we might never move out of our comfort zones. Good luck with the book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

