Malcolm Stone, The Writer, Writing Process

Writing Process Blog Hop

A couple of weeks ago when Karen at http://mytrainofthoughtson.wordpress.com/ invited me to join this blog hop, I thought it would be a lot of fun.  This year I decided I was going to be more active in the blogging world, meaning participating in blog hops and blog awards, something until now I was reluctant to do.

Karen has been a great supporter of mine and helps encourage me to keep working.  I enjoy reading her 10 statements posts.  It is very interesting to see how people answer the same 10 statements differently.  Thanks Karen for including me on this adventure to meet new talented bloggers and writers.

Rules:  Answer the four questions below, link back to the person who invited you, and name the people who will be posting the following Monday.

What am I working on?

Currently I am working on multiple projects, I don’t think I’d know what to do if I were only working on one thing at a time.  I am working on building my audience and writing about my process and books here.  Recently I started Happy Ambition, a website dedicated to my search for a happier more meaningful life.

I am also busy writing Dissonance, the first book of the Malcolm Stone series.

Malcolm was born into a very affluent family in the Boston area. His influence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. His musical career is starting to gain momentum, when his wife is murdered in their home. After her death, the truth of their relationship comes out. Malcolm endured years of physical and emotional abuse at the hands of his beloved wife. Unfortunately his alibi can not be confirmed, and he is tried for her murder. Dissonance is a story of heartbreak, forbidden love and intrigue.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I don’t know that my work is different from anyone else that writes in the genre.  Books fit within a certain genre because they are similar, not because of their differences.  Though from the books that I have read in the genre, they seem to be written third person or first person perspective from the female point of view.  Dissonance is Malcolm’s story written from his point of view.  I would like to say this series is different due to the my own influence on the characters and my own life experiences, but it seems naïve to me to think my work is unique.

 Why do I write what I write?

The simple answer is, I write what I do because I enjoy it.  Writing is cathartic and extremely therapeutic.  In times of uncertainty, I always would pick up a pen and start writing.  It was a relief to see my emotions and thoughts on paper.

I love the feeling I get when someone falls in love with a feeling or a character I have created.  Writing family saga fiction is fascinating to me.  It allows me to place myself in any real life situation and see how I would react , based on my characters reactions.  Each of my characters represent a piece of myself.  Through writing, I am able to live more than one life.  I can create people more real to me than most of those I meet on a daily basis and do a little soul-searching at the same time.

How does your writing process work?

The short answer is my writing process doesn’t work well, or at least not lately!  My process has historically been, write when the mood struck and don’t try to force it.  On those days when I felt like writing, I would sit down in my living room, find my glasses (who knows where laid them down last), play some music and open my word document containing my WIP.  Some days, I would write a lot and others hardly anything.  If no words got written after an hour or it was just hard going, I’d quit and write another day.

I am currently undergoing an adjustment to my writing process and planning a future post about it!  I have decided to make that transition from hobbyist to writer.  It will take a little work and adjustment, because I will still have to balance my blogging, social media, family life and full-time job; but I think the payoffs will be worth it.

Look for the blog hop to continue next week on these sites:

So you want to be a writer?

Mrs. Inger Anna Jones is a wonderful and supportive woman and fellow writer I met on Google+.  Inger has taken her writing to a new level most of us only dream about.  September 2013, Inger quit her job in London working in Foreign Service and moved to Cotswolds to pursue her writing full-time.  She is currently working on a non-fiction novel.  I look forward to seeing her answers on these questions next week and to follow her continued success as a writer.

Dropped Pebbles

Dyane Forde published author of The Purple Marrow, I also met on Google+ through Support-A-Writer community.  I got the pleasure of beta reading sections of her second book in the Papilion Trilogy and I am looking forward to the day it is also in print.  Dyane’s blog is a great resource to meet new writers and bloggers and an excellent source for up and coming writers wanting the unadulterated truth about what it takes to be a writer.  She also has a collection of her own writing, which I enjoy reading along with her journey to becoming published.

Making Happiness

Zenobia Southcombe is a very creative and passionate woman, whom I am lucky to call a friend.  She wears many hats;  teacher, writer, artist and musician.  Zee is working on several projects right now including a youth fiction, a project on happiness and her own self-development.  She has a wonderfully positive  outlook on life and though I’ve never had the pleasure of meeting her in person, I know her spirit brightens any room she enters.    I like to think the two of us as kindred spirits.

Vashti Quiroz-Vega

My name is Vashti Quiroz-Vega. I’m a writer of Fantasy, Suspense, Thriller and Horror.
From the time I was a young kid, writing has been my passion. I’ve always been a writer I just didn’t know it until much later. For me, it is easier to express my thoughts on paper than with the spoken word. I enjoy making people feel an array of emotions with my writing. I like my audience to laugh one moment, cry the next and clench their jaws after that.
My love of animals and nature are often incorporated in my stories. You’ll read intriguing things about various animals, nature and natural disasters commingled in my character driven novels.
I love to read almost as much as I love to write. Some of my favorite authors are Stephen King, Michael Crichton, Anne Rice, J.R.R. Tolkien, J.K. Rowling and Dan Brown.
 I’m currently living in Sunny Florida, where I work as a Registered Diagnostic Medical Sonographer. Writing is my passion, and I also love photography, drawing, kayaking, traveling, cooking and watching basketball and UFC fights on TV. My first novel, The Basement, a suspense/thriller aimed at an Upper Middle Grade/ Young Adult audience is now available in paperback and eBook(Kindle, Nook, iBooks). Connect with me!
10 thoughts on “Writing Process Blog Hop”

  1. Great insights, Amanda! You have a way of thinking that often confirms my thoughts and/or perception of things. Your thoughts and insights are always welcome. 🙂
    If you are looking for beta readers for Dissonance, please count me in.

    Like

  2. Hi Amanda. See, now I know so much more about you and your writing! I will answer these questions tomorrow, thank you for including me.

    Like

  3. Looks like your next step as a writer – not a hobbyist – is going to be another big adventure! I am super excited for you 🙂 Interestingly, I’ve come to realise that writing has become, not a hobby per se, but certainly not my main career avenue. I am looking forward to reading more about your change of direction.

    And what else can I say but ‘thank you’? For your support, your friendship, and your extremely kind words xx

    Like

  4. Great to get to know you and your writing process better, Amanda. Looking forward to your blogpost about your new writing process. Hope you find it works for you. Sounds like you are going to be busier than ever 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

