Posted in The Writer

A Look into a New Year

It’s that time of year again where everyone is the midst of the hustle and bustle of the holiday season.  This is the time of year I like to sit back and evaluate my goals for the coming year.  I look at my goals multiple times a year and adjust them accordingly.  This year I have broken down my goals into different aspects: blogging, writing and personal goals.  As the year progresses I will be adjusting and hopefully marking off some of my goals as completed.  Though the majority of my goals are part of a lifelong ambition and most are unable to be marked off as done, but I can at least note that I have improved upon them.  I look to this new year with expectations and wonderment.  I am excited to be able to start a new, each year!

Blogging Goals

  1. Post more regularly – twice weekly. (1 writing related and 1 personal)
  2. Post more personal entries allowing my readers to know me
  3. Post more updates on my writing progress
  4. Add more photos to blog and posts
  5. Pay closer attention to posts that drive traffic to blog and adjust style to match

Writing Goals

  1. Write more often – goal of writing at least once a week
  2. Publish my first book by Spring / Summer 2014
  3. Finish first draft of Dissonance by Feb 2014
  4. Get better organized with blogging / writing / social media balance
  5. Keep a calendar of deadlines
  6. Get organized
  7. Keep writing journal handy
  8. Start keeping a personal journal again

Personal Goals

  1. Start a three times weekly work out regimen – in place by Jan 30, 2014
  2. Meditate 1 to 2 times a week, starting a 5 minutes gradually increasing time to correspond to attention
  3. Eat a healthier diet.  90% Vegetarian
  4. Cook at home more often – only allowing myself 1 day a week for a meal outside the house
  5. Save money for our future – $100 a month at first
  6. Organize my life by eliminating negativity, excess baggage, etc
  7. Focus on the important aspects of life – don’t get pulled down by the “what ifs” of life
Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

12 thoughts on “A Look into a New Year

  1. These are great goals, Amanda! What I like most about them is that most of them are within easy reach – despite their importance. If all goals are set too high, we humans tend to despair.

    Like

    1. At times I wonder if I set my goals too low, but I like to be realistic. I used to make those outrageous impossible goals and failed every year, so now I attempt attainable goals, and I know some of those may not be reach either, but I’m alright with that 🙂

      Like

      1. Your goals certainly are not set too low. An achievement – even if it seems little – is much bigger in reality. Every achievement means progress. 🙂

        Like

  2. They say that clear, measurable goals are one of the biggest predictors of future success. I’d say you’ve got a pretty good handle on that!

    Your goals are inspiring. I’d better get mine written out…

    Like

  3. I’m working on my goals today. It’s great getting an insight into yours. Thanks for sharing such a personal list with us, Amanda. Splitting them up into different aspects of your life is such a useful idea. I hope you enjoy the journey that next year brings.

    Like

    1. This is the first year I have actually split them up in this manner, but I am thinking I might want to split them up even further later. Instead of “personal” I think I could split those into categories as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

