Posted in NaNoWriMo, Writing Process

My love-hate relationship with NaNoWriMo

November is just around the corner, signaling the start of the holiday season and the rekindling of my volatile relationship with NaNoWriMo.  I loathe NaNoWriMo, it is against so many of my core principles as writer and as a regular person, but yet for the fourth year I have gone crawling back to sign up.  It’s like a drug addiction; I just can’t shake the habit.

Last year, I literally quit halfway through the month.  I am not sure why I didn’t continue, the idea was solid.  I was working on Dissonance.  I had a lot if ideas and decided I didn’t want to be rushed.  I did not want to compromise my writing to get the daily word count.  I realize I could have continued, got it written and fix all the errors during the editing process,  but I would rather not have to double my work.

There was a secondary and more pressing reason I quit last year.  It was personal and had nothing to do with writing.  I am a firm believer in living life and not letting it pass me by.  I realized halfway through the month that I was putting everything in my life on hold for the month.  I had made a vow to myself I was not putting life on hold earlier in the year.  I decided finishing a novel in a month wasn’t worth the trade-off.

I said last year I was done with NaNoWriMo, but yet here I am with a novel idea for November.  There are two things I love about NaNoWriMo.  The first being it allows me the excuse to be creative and write for hours if I wanted.  The second is I have met some interesting writers through the forum posts.  Those are probably the only reasons I keep finding myself crawling back to the abusive relationship.

This year I believe will be a little different, I am finished writing Reverie and I am actually plotting and outlining for the first year.  I am still not expecting to finish and my goal is not 50,000 words.  I am a bit of a rebel,  but my goal for the month is to get a solid start to a new book.

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

9 thoughts on “My love-hate relationship with NaNoWriMo

  1. I thought I might be one of those who was suffering from some fear of writing under the pressure NaNoWritMo dishes out. Although I believe a writer should write every day, and if on a project, should try to make that writing count towards the completion of the project, the underlying pressure of a ‘subtle competition’ seems anti-productive to me. NaNoWritMo does use this competitive way to force writing. My opinion is that writing is a delicate balance between persistence and inspiration. The pressure NaNoWritMo is using upsets that balance so that any work that is done isn’t really of the utmost quality. I think I’ll stay away from NaNoWritMo.

    Like

    1. I know what you mean. That is one of the reasons I quit every year! My creativity gets stifled. I am not a write everyday kind of person, I am closer to a write once a week or so. I really only enjoy writing when I actually have something to write about and the words flow freely without being forced.

      Like

  2. Thank you Amanda. This is the first article I have read this year about this nanowritmo. It inspires me to know that you have atleast tried for 4 years to do this. I am not a competitive person. But I do like a motivating force to write, so long as its positive, and also a challenge. I think I will enter this thing, because I have known about it and always wanted to try. And having just finally published my novel, I have alot of fresh energy to write now (which was formerly tied up in my sadness over not having published my old novel). Anyway, thanks. I am gonna go to the website and see about entering. I also like what you said about making new friendships there, with other writers.

    Like

    1. Congrats on publishing your book! This will be the first year I won’t be working on my book during NaNoWriMo. I never care about the word count, I am a rebel that way. Good luck on your new project!

      Like

  3. I’m with Glynis Jolly. I can’t think a worse process, for me, but every writer is different. I write to escape my daily stresses, not to heap more on my plate. No thanks to NaNaWriMo, but I wound never tell another to stay away. Who knows? Some may thrive there, just not me.

    Like

    1. I have admit complete and utter failure on NaNoWriMo this year. Quit aftwr day one, with less than 500 words in and went back to writing my series. Think this year I finally kicked the habit. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

