The Writer

Sunrise or Sunset?

Nearly every morning from late summer to early winter and again in spring, I have the pleasure of seeing the sunrise.  The pleasures of being to work by 7:30 am and having to drive about 40 minutes to get to work.  It’s a strange feeling to describe, when you get the opportunity to see the sun peek up over the horizon.  Watching the sun come up in the morning spreads such happiness through me.  It’s a new start to a brand new day, the light after the dark, anything can happen.  It’s like a fresh sheet of paper waiting to be filled with words.

A few short years ago I would have been upset to be up before the sun, inhuman and awake before the gods were the words I described being up that early.  Now it’s an opportunity to start the day off right with a smile and an expectation that the day will be wonderful.  After all each day is a new beginning, no expectations, no regrets.  The day is what you make it. Seeing the sun’s smiling face appear is the same as seeing a friend after a long trip.

I can tell the days are numbered when I will be able to see it rise.  It doesn’t come over the surface of the horizon until 15 minutes into my drive.  Winter approaches.  Soon I will see nothing but darkness during my drive until I arrive at work only seeing a slight hint at the sun’s return

Today was one of the rare days I also saw the sun set while driving, not getting home until nearly 9 pm.  The colors are so similar to the morning, but instead of an expectation of an exciting day ahead of me, the evening skies fill my heart with peace and reflection.  The daylight giving way to the darkness, but only for a short time.  Soon the very first star shines through, even before the light has faded.  As the day closed today I was thinking about where my life has changed in the past 10 years bringing a smile to my face and a lightness to my heart.

The sun rises and sets with a smile on my face.

8 thoughts on “Sunrise or Sunset?”

  1. I know what you mean, Amanda. I also had a time when I drove east into the sunrise when going to work and west into the sunset when going home. It does connect you to the planet’s rhythm as well as allowing you to experience some unexpectedly glorious skies.
    PS Love the badge – going to transfer it asap!

    Like

      1. I’m not usually up to see the sunrise but love taking pictures when I am. The light is so different from any other time of day. I think my favorite thing is to get a picture of the sunrise behind something, usually a tree branch or a flower.

        Like

  2. I’ve always been an early riser. The sunrise is there for me to see if the skies aren’t cloudy. Yes, I agree; it is marvelous to watch it happen. For reasons that escape me, I don’t seem to feel quite the joy for sunsets.

    This was such an inspiring post. Thank you.

    Like

  3. What a beautiful post, Amanda 🙂 I used to be in the same position with seeing the sun rise, and would love the early morning days in winter, with the sun and the fog – it was an amazing way to start the day. Working evenings, at this time of year I am beginning to see sunset as well, but there’s something invigorating about starting the day with the sun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

