Writing Process

Creatures of Habit

We are all creatures of habit in way. I have a set way I like doing most things. When I get up I have a morning routine. I even have a particular order I do things in the shower. If I deviate too far from my normal routine, I tend to forget things at 6:00 am. I wouldn’t go as far as saying I am not a morning person, but I am groggy, forgetful, and occasionally cranky during that first hour of being awake. Lucky for me it takes me about 45 minutes to get out of the hour and a 35 minute drive to work so no one sees the super groggy and disoriented me!

Thinking about my everyday routine made me wonder if I had a set routine when it comes to writing. I discovered I am much more productive when I did follow a routine while writing, but it isn’t as rigid as my everyday routine.

DSC03279

My writing routine is relatively simple.  I need to find some inspiring music, be it jazz, classical, punk, industrial, basically whatever strikes the mood that evening.  For example this evening I’m listening to Amy Winehouse, while earlier today I was listening to Yiruma.  If I am having trouble concentrating or if something else is going on in the house I will wear earphones.  I then either curl up on the couch or sit at the table in the kitchen with my laptop a cup of coffee or hot tea.  Depending on the scene I may even grab a nice cold beer.  (I have learned if my character is drinking I normally do to.   It just doesn’t seem right to describe drinking a beer if I’m not drinking one too!  Thank goodness my character isn’t an alcoholic!)  On occasion I find my little blue knit hat and my reading glasses to complete the writer persona.  When I do these little things it puts my mind in writing mode.  I can write anyplace at anytime, but I have find myself more productive when I follow my strange little routine.

What is your routine for writing?  Do you have any little tricks to get your mind in writing mode?

 

5 thoughts on “Creatures of Habit”

  1. I loved reading this post, because it made me realize that I actually don’t have a writing routine…maybe if I had one, I would be a more productive writer! I love how you feel the need to drink if your characters are- I will have to try that out!

    Like

  2. I have learnt to be able to write anywhere, anytime… as long as I have a hot cup of tea / chai latte, my laptop, and am word-count accountable.

    Tricks to get myself into writing? I don’t know if it’s really a ‘trick’, but I found at the start that my mind would be overwhelmed by all the other stuff that needed doing (dishes, insurance, emails, my job etc.), so I have to pretend for a while that writing is the only thing of any importance that exists (which isn’t too hard once you get used to it).

    Like

  3. Actually, oddly enough (and I didn’t even notice this myself until you asked) I sometimes have movies going on in the ‘background’, like right now I am watching Chocolat, because that’s the mood I’m writing in at the moment. Somehow, it doesn’t seem to conflict with my writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

