The Writer

FEARS!

We all have fears in life.  Personally I am afraid of snakes and heights!  So I won’t be climbing any snake infested mountains in the foreseeable time.

But I also have fears when it comes to writing.  I don’t fear criticism, though I don’t much care for it, but I know it’s all part of the process.  I know some fear their books will never be read or they will be plagiarized.  Those things don’t worry me much.  As long as my stories and books are made available for someone to read I am happy.  As for the stealing while it’s wrong and rather pathetic there are legal ramifications for such acts and in a weird backwards kind of way it is a compliment to you.  Someone thought it good enough to steal.

No my real fear is only having the one story.  I have seen it time and time again, even with best-sellers.  They tell the same story over and over again with different characters and a different setting, but the story is essentially the same with minor changes.  I don’t want to disappoint my readers.  I just hope my stories are similar enough to each other to keep the readers coming back, but different enough they’d don’t put the book down.

I figure the best way to conquer my writing fear is to continue writing.  Write as much as I can and as often as I can.  The more I write the better it gets and the more creative my mind is.  I like to experiment with different perspectives, genres and even cadence.  So far I keep coming back to literary fiction with a romance undertone.  My favorite books have nearly always been very character driven.  I let my characters take me for a ride, while I set back and watch the scenery pass.  Here’s to hoping they take me down a different path each time!

What are some of your fears in writing?

4 thoughts on “FEARS!”

  1. Yes, I had a similar fear after I had my first book published. I was terrified I’d never be able to do it again. But, hey! As you suggest, I just kept working away at it and whatdyaknow! I have two published! Scared witless now that I can’t do it a third time!
    If you like character-driven books, you may like my novels. One agent told me they fall between Literary Fiction and Contemporary Fiction and they are very much character-driven.
    You can find their details on my blog if you’d like to check them out.
    cicampbellblog.wordpress.com
    Happy writing, Amanda 🙂

    Like

    1. I can completely understand that one too! I think it’s a fine line we all must learn to walk. Trying to be the same and yet different enough to keep the same readers (and hopefully new ones) interested.

      Like

Leave a Reply

