Posted in Malcolm Stone

The Story

When I started writing this book several years ago, I started with a blank piece of paper and no idea where to start.  I had absolutely nothing; no plot, no characters and no setting.  I just started making the story up on the fly, within minutes I started writing.  I just took something I liked and created a person around it.  I had been listening to a lot of classical music at work, it kept my mind occupied as I worked on a relatively mundane task.  I had always loved piano music and was rather jealous of those who mastered it.  Thus my character Malcolm Stone was born.

Over the years of writing his life, I have come to know him well.  He is almost as real if not more so than my friends on social media.  I know his inner desires and his dark hidden secrets.  He is like family.  His character changes from year to year, but in the past year he has stayed pretty consistent.  The story is told from first person point of view.  Though it can be limiting, I enjoy writing in that style because you get an intimate look at one character.  I want everyone to fall in love with Malcolm.  It also has some advantages when it comes to plot twists.  If I feel the story is getting boring I can through a ringer in, and since Malcolm doesn’t know their inner secrets, he doesn’t know it will happen until after he is in the middle of an unpleasant situation.

Malcolm is the middle child of Preston and Mallory Stone.  Preston and Mallory are killed in a car accident when Malcolm is sixteen.  His older brother, David, becomes his and Olivia’s, his younger sister, legal guardian.  David takes over the family business allowing Malcolm to follow his dream to be a musician.  Once Malcolm graduates with a Master’s in Music Composition, he is offered a teaching position at Harvard School of Music.  One evening before his performance with the Harvard Faculty Orchestra, he take a walk through the Fogg Art Museum where he meets a student worker who catches his eye instantly.  She has a slender frame, evenly sun-kissed skin that contrasts nicely with the yellow tank and flowing white skirt she was wearing that evening.  Her hair was long and sparkling blonde, her perfect complexion framed her beautiful sky blue eyes.  He felt drawn to speak with her.  He invites her to coffee at the conclusion of his performance, Ana reluctantly accepts his invitation.

The story starts after they had been married for several years.  A life of lies, betrayal, murder, forbidden love, and heartbreak await Malcolm.

 

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

2 thoughts on “The Story

Leave a Reply

