Posted in The Writer, Uncategorized

The Writer

image

I have had a hard time coming to grips with the terms writer and author.  For the longest time I refused to be acknowledged as either.  I didn’t like the label “writer”.  I had such a horrible stereotype in my head, especially “indie writer”.  Those people seemed so pompous, self-proclaimed enlightened.  You all know the type.  I just assumed they self-published because they couldn’t get a real publisher to pick up their work, obviously there was something wrong with their writing.

A lot has changed since those arrogant days.  Now I am one of those indie writers.  I haven’t published yet, but plan on it by the beginning of 2014, possibly earlier depending on how motivated I can stay.  My opinions of writers and authors have changed to, do I still think they are pompous and arrogant?  You better believe it!  But not all of them and definitely not the majority of us.  I have found they are either young still trying to find their voice or they too are playing off of a stereotype of what they think a writer should be like.  In the age of eBooks and digital media I have been introduced to a lot of indie authors and I have to say some of the books I have read are just as good or better than New York Times Bestsellers!  I originally want to publish in the traditional method, but now I have decided to forgo that idea and publish myself.  I may not make it big, but that’s not my end goal.  I don’t think I’ll ever be able to quit my day job and just write.  My goal is get my work out there and share a story with someone.  I don’t care how many people.  I want the story to be mine… not what a marketing team, editor, publisher believes will sell more books.  So I have joined the leagues of indie writers.

Only one thing remains the same is  I still have difficulties describing myself as a writer.  I don’t like the constricts of a title.  I’m more than a writer.  Being a writer is only a part of me, it’s not me.  I don’t describe myself as a Records Manager (my day job) or a photographer (one of my many hobbies), or a yogi; so why would I want to call myself a writer?  I am a person who earns money being a records manager, passes her time taking photographs, enjoys the freedom and insight from doing yoga and enjoys telling a story.

So who am I?  I am a woman with a dream of sharing her stories with those who want to read them.  I hope to find a following and learn a little bit about the self-publishing and indie writer markets.

Author:

I am a writer currently working on her first series featuring Malcolm Stone. I also dabble in photography cooking and enjoying life. Synopsis of Dissonance (Book I in the series): Malcolm is youngest son of Preston Stone, the largest liquor importer on the east coast since the prohibition. His family’s affluence has afforded him the opportunity to follow his passion of being a pianist. He married a successful local artist Anabelle Connolly. They appeared to have the perfect life, but it had turned sour. After Anabelle’s death, the truth of their marriage can no longer be hidden. Years of Malcolm’s carefully constructed lies start unraveling at his feet. Will he be able to pick up the pieces of his shattered life? Dissonance explores and exposes a violent relationship, infidelity, substance abuse, depression, and lies.

One thought on “The Writer

Leave a Reply

